Leaving

ImageLeaving

We went for a drive in the countryside
and saw a fox with a broken leg
it was hobbling in a lay-by,
in the car park there was a sickly looking pigeon
bent head down next to a parked car’s wheel
not moving, dejected

in town I passed lots of rockabilly type girls
or were they burlesque dancers?
everyone seems to be a burlesque dancer these days
some had tattoos on their legs
that looked like varicose veins
they mostly wore polka-dot dresses
or jeans with big turnups
and had their hair in pony tails
I’d also seen plenty of young men
in old fashioned clothes with waxed moustaches
and short back and sides haircuts
why would anyone want to look like their granddad
or mine for that matter?
I also noticed quite a few people with lunatic asylum haircuts

Bambi went to Bristol –
when we left her she hugged me very hard
and said, I love you so much Daddy
the house feels too quiet
there is a daughter shaped hole
a shape that I know very well because we hugged very often
when I walk through town
past the people with haircuts
I sometimes see girls that are the same size
as her
with similar clothes or shapes
and little flattened noses
that’s when my heart leaps

One thought on “Leaving

Leave a Reply

